07 3380 4200

News & Events

NewsEvents-1

There are many activities on throughout the year at Parklands from swimming carnivals, tests, cross country, parent evenings, special assemblies and so much more.

To ensure you are kept up-to-date on Parklands events, please check the calendar regularly to see what is coming up and to get more information. If you are a Facebook user, stay up to date by visiting https://www.facebook.com/pccnews

Extended Absence – Special/Family Events
If you are intending to withdraw your child from school for any extended period of time during any given term, please contact Student Services with the details of the absence, noting the dates of absence and your child’s ability to continue completing school work online or otherwise while absent. Teaching staff will endeavour to accommodate any reasonable request to assist a student who has missed the content of a unit of work due to extended absence. However, modification to assessment and assessment conditions will not be made and may impact your child’s overall level of achievement.

2018 Term Dates
Term 1
  Mon 22 Jan – Wed 28 March – 10 wks
Term 2  Tue 17 April – Fri 22 June – 10 wks
Term 3  Mon 16 July – Fri 21 Sept – 10 wks
Term 4  Mon 8 Oct – Fri 30 Nov – 8 wks

Holiday Dates
Autumn
– Thurs 29 March – Mon 16 April – 2 wks
Winter – Sat 23 June – Sun 15 July – 3 wks
Spring – Sat 22 Sep – Sun 7 October – 2 wks
Summer – Sat 1 Dec – Mon 28 Jan 2019 – 8 wks

Student free dates for 2018
Mon 15th Jan – Fri 19th Jan
Mon 16th April
Mon 25th June – Fri 29th June
Mon 22nd Oct (State-wide Moderation Day)
Mon 3rd Dec – Friday 7th Dec

Academic Year finishing dates for 2018
Grade 12 – Friday 16th Nov
Grades 10-11 – Friday 13rd Nov
Prep 9 – Friday 30th Nov

Queensland Public Holidays
The following list shows holidays within the 2017 academic year
Australia Day – Thurs 26th January
Good Friday – Fri 30th March
Easter Monday – Mon 2nd April
ANZAC Day – Wed 25th April
Labour Day – Mon 7th May
Royal Queensland Show (EKKA) – Mon 13th August
Queen’s Birthday – Mon 1st October

Secondary Exam Weeks

Students should be present on the dates listed. Do not book holidays or plan for your child to be away during exam weeks. Alternate exam sitting times may not be available in some cases.

  • Term 1 – Mon 19th March – Fri 23rd March
  • Term 2 – Mon 11th June – Fri 15th June
  • Term 3 – Mon 10th Sep – Fri 14th Sep
  • Term 4
    • Grade 12: Mon 5th Nov – Mon 12th Nov
    • Grade 10-11: Mon 19th Nov – Fri 23rd Nov
    • Middle School: Mon 26th Nov -Thurs 29th Nov
  • NAPLAN – Grades 3, 5, 7, & 9 only
    • Tue 15th May – Thurs 17th May
  • QCS Test – Grade 12 only
    • Tue 4th September
    • Wed 5th September