07 3380 4200

News & Events

NewsEvents-1

There are many activities on throughout the year at Parklands from swimming carnivals, tests, cross country, parent evenings, special assemblies and so much more.

To ensure you are kept up-to-date on Parklands events, please check the calendar regularly to see what is coming up and to get more information. If you are a Facebook user, stay up to date by visiting https://www.facebook.com/pccnews

Extended Absence – Special/Family Events
If you are intending to withdraw your child from school for any extended period of time during any given term, please contact Student Services with the details of the absence, noting the dates of absence and your child’s ability to continue completing school work online or otherwise while absent. Teaching staff will endeavour to accommodate any reasonable request to assist a student who has missed the content of a unit of work due to extended absence. However, modification to assessment and assessment conditions will not be made and may impact your child’s overall level of achievement.

2022 Term Dates
Term 1
  *Mon 24 Jan – Fri 1 April – 10wks
Term 2   Tues19 April – Fri 17 June – 9 wks
Term 3   Tues 12 July – Fri 16 Sept – 10 wks
Term 4   Tues 4 Oct – Fri 25 Nov – 8 wks

*Starting Dates for 2022
Prep-6: Mon 24 Jan
Years 7-9: Tues 25 Jan
Years 10-12: Thu 27 Jan

Holiday Dates
Autumn
– Sat 2 April – Mon 18 April – 2 wks
Winter – Sat 18 June – Mon 11 July – 3 wks
Spring – Sat 17 Sep – Mon 3 October – 2 wks
Summer – Sat 26 Nov – Sun 22 Jan 2023 – 8 wks

Student free dates for 2022
Mon 17 Jan – Fri 21 Jan
Mon 20 June – Fri 24 June
Mon 11 July (ACS Teachers Conference)
Fri 2 Sept (Government Directed)
Mon 28 Nov – Fri 2 Dec

Queensland Public Holidays
The following list shows holidays within the 2022 academic year:
Australia Day – Wed 26 Jan
Good Friday – Fri 15 April
Easter Monday – Mon 18 April
ANZAC Day – Mon 25 April
Labour Day – Mon 2 May
Royal Qld Show (EKKA) – Mon 8 August
Queen’s Birthday – Mon 3 October

Secondary Exam Weeks
As per QCAA’s QCE handbook (Section 6.6: Illness and Misadventure), if assessment is missed due to family holidays we cannot approve requests for extension. Parklands therefore expects all secondary students to only take holidays during the designated holiday times

Years 7-10 only
Term 1 | Mon 21 March – Fri 25 March
Term 2 | Mon 6 June – Fri 10 June
Term 3 | Mon 5 Sep – Fri 9 Sep
Term 4 | Year 10: Mon 14 Nov – Fri 18 Nov
Years 7-9: Mon 21 Nov–Thurs 24 Nov

Year 11 only  (in addition to ongoing assessment)
Term 3 | Mon 29 Aug – Fri 9 Sep

Year 12 only  (in addition to ongoing assessment)
Term 3 | Mon 29 Aug – Fri 9 Sep (trial examinations)
Term 4 | Mon 24 Oct – Tue 15 Nov

NAPLAN: Years 3, 5, 7, & 9 only
Tues 10 May – Fri 20 May
(window; PCC dates to be advised closer to the time)

Finishing Dates for 2022
Years 10-12  – Fri 18 Nov
Prep-Year 9 – Fri 25 Nov