07 3380 4200

News & Events

NewsEvents-1

There are many activities on throughout the year at Parklands from swimming carnivals, tests, cross country, parent evenings, special assemblies and so much more.

To ensure you are kept up-to-date on Parklands events, please check the calendar regularly to see what is coming up and to get more information. If you are a Facebook user, stay up to date by visiting https://www.facebook.com/pccnews

Extended Absence – Special/Family Events
If you are intending to withdraw your child from school for any extended period of time during any given term, please contact Student Services with the details of the absence, noting the dates of absence and your child’s ability to continue completing school work online or otherwise while absent. Teaching staff will endeavour to accommodate any reasonable request to assist a student who has missed the content of a unit of work due to extended absence. However, modification to assessment and assessment conditions will not be made and may impact your child’s overall level of achievement.

2020 Term Dates
Term 1
  *Tues 28 Jan – Thurs 2 April – 10wks
Term 2  Mon 20 April – Fri 19 June – 9 wks
Term 3  Tues 14 July – Fri 18 Sept – 10 wks
Term 4  Tues 6 Oct – Fri 27 Nov – 8 wks

*Starting Dates for 2019
Prep-6 – Tues 28 Jan
Years 7-9 – Wed 29 Jan
Years 10-12 – Thurs 30 Jan

Holiday Dates
Autumn
– Fri 3 April – Sun 19 April – 2 wks
Winter – Sat 20 June – Mon 13 July – 3 wks
Spring – Sat 19 Sep – Mon 5 October – 2 wks
Summer – Sat 28 Nov – Tues 26 Jan 2020 – 8 wks

Student free dates for 2020
Mon 20 Jan – Fri 24 Jan
Mon 22 June – Fri 26 June
Mon 13 July (ACS Teachers Conference)
Fri 4 Sept (Government Directed)
Mon 30 Nov – Fri 4 Dec

Queensland Public Holidays
The following list shows holidays within the 2020 academic year:
Australia Day – Mon 27 Jan
Good Friday – Fri 10 April
Easter Monday – Mon 13 April
ANZAC Day – Sat 25 April
Labour Day – Mon 4 May
Royal Qld Show (EKKA) – Fri 14 August
Queen’s Birthday – Mon 5 October

Secondary Exam Weeks
As per QCAA’s QCE handbook (Section 6.6: Illness and Misadventure), if assessment is missed due to family holidays we cannot approve requests for extension. Parklands therefore expects all secondary students to only take holidays during the designated holiday times

Years 7-10 only

Term 1: Mon 23 March – Fri 27 March
Term 2: Mon 8 June – Fri 12 June
Term 3: Mon 7 Sep – Fri 11 Sep
Term 4:

Year 10: Mon 16 Nov – Fri 20 Nov
Years 7-9: Mon 23 Nov–Thurs 26 Nov

Year 11 only

Term 3: Mon 31 Aug– Fri 11 Sep

Year 12 only

Term 4: Mon 26 Oct– Tues 17 Nov

NAPLAN: Years 3, 5, 7, & 9 only
Tue 12 May – Fri 22 May
(window; PCC dates to be advised closer to the time)

Finishing Dates for 2020
Year 12 – Fri 20 Nov
Years 10-11 – Fri 20 Nov
Prep – Year 9 – Fri 27 Nov