07 3380 4200

News & Events

NewsEvents-1

There are many activities on throughout the year at Parklands from swimming carnivals, tests, cross country, parent evenings, special assemblies and so much more.

To ensure you are kept up-to-date on Parklands events, please check the calendar regularly to see what is coming up and to get more information. If you are a Facebook user, stay up to date by visiting https://www.facebook.com/pccnews

Extended Absence – Special/Family Events
If you are intending to withdraw your child from school for any extended period of time during any given term, please contact Student Services with the details of the absence, noting the dates of absence and your child’s ability to continue completing school work online or otherwise while absent. Teaching staff will endeavour to accommodate any reasonable request to assist a student who has missed the content of a unit of work due to extended absence. However, modification to assessment and assessment conditions will not be made and may impact your child’s overall level of achievement.

2017 Term Dates
Term 1
Mon 23rd Jan – Thur 30th March – 10 wks
Term 2 Tue 18th April – Fri 16th June – 9 wks
Term 3 Mon 10th July – Fri 15th Sept – 10 wks
Term 4 Tue 3rd Oct – Fri 24th Nov – 8 wks

Holiday Dates
Autumn
– Friday 31st March – Mon 17th April – 2 wks
Winter – Sat 17th June – Sun 9th July – 3 wks
Spring – Sat 16th Sep – Mon 2nd October – 2 wks
Summer – Sat 25th Nov – Mon 22nd Jan 2018 – 8 wks

Student free dates for 2017
Mon 16th Jan – Fri 20th Jan
Mon 19th June – Fri 23rd June
Mon 16th Oct (State-wide Moderation Day)
Mon 27th Nov – Friday 1st Dec

Academic Year finishing dates for 2017
Grades 10-12 – Friday 17th Nov
P-9 – Friday 24th Nov

Queensland Public Holidays
The following list shows holidays within the 2017 academic year
Australia Day – Thurs 26th January
Good Friday – Fri 14th April
Easter Monday – Mon 17th April
ANZAC Day – Tues 25th April
Labour Day – Mon 1st May
Royal Queensland Show (EKKA) – Mon 14th August
Queen’s Birthday – Mon 2nd October

Secondary Exam Weeks

Students should be present on the dates listed. Do not book holidays or plan for your child to be away during exam weeks. Alternate exam sitting times may not be available in some cases.

  • Term 1 – Mon 20th March – Fri 24th March
  • Term 2 – Mon 5th June – Fri 9th June
  • Term 3 – Mon 4th Sep – Fri 8th Sep
  • Term 4
    • Grade 12: Tue 7th Nov – Tue 14th Nov
    • Grade 10-11: Mon13th Nov – Fri 17th Nov
    • Middle School: Mon 20th Nov -Thurs 23rd Nov
  • NAPLAN – Grades 3, 5, 7, & 9 only
    • Tue 9th May – Thurs 11th May
  • QCS Test – Grade 12 only
    • Tue 29th August – Writing (2 hours) & Multiple Choice 1 (1.5 hours)
    • Wed 30th August – Short Response (2 hours) & Multiple Choice 2 (1.5 hours)